Guilt-Free 3 – Boyband Edition

HeaderGF31-01
I swear to this day that I hit puberty the very moment that I saw the “Quit Playing Games With My Heart” music video.

…sorry, I had to give myself a second.  So this past weekend, I was riding around Columbus with my friend Kay listening to the my boyband mix (because that’s what we do) and I realized that we must be WAY more influenced by them than either of us would like to admit.

Perhaps the days of boyband mania hit at that perfect, pivotal point in our lives when everything was so easy and beautiful.  Listening to the crooning teenage boys takes me back to a simpler, more innocent time…regardless of how un-innocent my thoughts were (see previous video).

So here’s an ode to the boybands in the form of a Guilt-Free 3…but I’m going to have to do this in two parts – the way I felt in 2000 and the way I feel in 2014.  Because honestly…well, you’ll see.  To keep things simple, I’m going to include only the Backstreet Boys, N’Sync, and 98 Degrees.

2003 Guilt-Free 3 – Boyband Edition

#1 – Nick Carter (Backstreet Boys)

I feel wildly embarrassed about this…but I can still justify it in my head. You see, Nick Carter (in his bowl cut glory days) was everything I wanted in a man.  EVERYTHING.  The squeaky voice, the innocence, those eyes, and of course his hair.

Nick Carter

#2 – J.C. Chasez (N’Sync)

I couldn’t get into Ramen-noodle head Timberlake…so I went with the next best thing.

J.C. Chasez

#3 – Nick Lachey (98 Degrees)

He was cute, and he put up with Jessica Simpson…which means he could probably put up with me.

Nick Lachey

2014 Guilt-Free 3 – Backstreet Boy Edition

#1 – Kevin Richardson (Backstreet Boys)

I’ve grown up to realize that Kevin Richardson is mothertrucking HOT. When I was younger, I just thought of him as Brian’s boring older cousin…but now?  Yes, give me Kevin.  It’s the hair, the eyes, and the goatee.

Kevin Richardson

#2 – Justin Timberlake (N’Sync)

Bye bye, Ramen-head! Hello, Justin.

Justin Timberlake

#3 – Jeff Timmons (98 Degrees)

Um…he’s stripping now?  In Vegas?  I’m behind that career move.

Jeff Timmons

2 thoughts on “Guilt-Free 3 – Boyband Edition

Leave a Reply

